The Personal Journal of POTUS

November 13, 2008

Retirement

Filed under: Uncategorized — fakepotus @ 6:34 am
Tags: , ,

It’s been a busy week so far, and I haven’t had much time to reflect until the last few days.  Thought about the call I made to Bill on Sunday before the Obamas came to visit, I actually asked him a few questions about how he handled retirement.  I told Bill that I was a bit at a loss for what I’d do next.

Bill was his ever effusive self, told me not to worry about it, it’ll come soon enough.  First, I could catch up on all these great books that came out the last few years, play some golf, may be go jogging from state to state, or I could probably write a book or two.  That was just leisurely stuff.  Then there is the possibility of doing charity work.  Bill was telling me he was looking for a new partner anyway since dad isn’t traveling quite as much in the last few years.  Bill was adamant that he didn’t want to hang out with Carter or Gore, the former is a nutjob, and Al is trying his hand at venture capitalism.  Bill chuckled a little at that one.

The talk with Bill really did help though.  At least it got me started thinking about what to do next.   I know I have a few regrets about the time I’ve spent in the White House.  Hell, actually, I have a lot of regrets, beyond those that I whined to the media about, but then I guess there is only so much time one has as a president.   Could’ve done a lot more for education, too bad I didn’t have the time to spend on that one.  Ah well.  The book is actually something I started on already, it’ll probably be out in a couple of years or so.  Got a few guys who I’ve been bouncing ideas off of over the last few weekends.  So, I guess retirement won’t be that bad.

May be I ought to focus my post-White House efforts on our veterans.  I sure had put a lot of them in harm’s way in the last seven years.  But, the door is wide open in the future.  Or, may be I can take up a job as a counselor, you know, I could look into people’s eyes, see into their souls, and all that.  So, retirement might not be so bad after all.

1 Comment »

  1. […] Posted in November 13th, 2008 by in Uncategorized Retirement It’s been a busy week so far, and I haven’t had much time to reflect until the last […]

    Pingback by » Retirement White House On Best Political Blogs: News And Info On White House — November 13, 2008 @ 6:59 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

